These Boots Were Made For Walkin’

Standard

Heyyyy everyone.
I’m actually slightly unsure as to how I should go about this post. You see, I’m going to do something completely out of keeping with the requirements I put on myself for this blog, and it feels a little like cheating.  But, for the overall idea of what I’m trying to do with this blog, I think this is an important post to have.
Also, when it comes down to it, it’s my blog and I can break my rules if I wanna! Haha that being said, let me explain what I mean.
I have been searching for a pair of really cute tall boots for almost a year now. I’ve found a couple of pairs that were almost right, but never quite. You saw one of the cheap pairs I bought in my last post, Affair of the Heart. They’re cute, but they just weren’t exactly what I was imagining every time I droolingly pored over the endless pairs of fabulous boots I saw every time I looked at Pinterest.
So, this brings me to one of the sad but inescapable facts of fashion I’ve been forced to accept: sometimes, you just have to pay a lot to get something you really love.
But, and you might remember that I talked about this in my very first outfit post, these are things I call investment pieces. And my investment pieces, even though they are much more than I would normally ever pay, are not nearly as expensive as other people’s.
So take for example, the pair of tall nice boots I’ve been dreaming of. Well, everywhere I’ve looked, the cheapest I’ve seen any is $35, and they’ve usually been much more than that. And much of the time, they have not looked like they were even close to worth that much in quality. So, when I wandered in Ross (a local discount wholesale clothing store) and spotted the pair of tall black boots I’d been dreaming of, I realized in about ten minutes that I was going to be purchasing them once I’d discovered that they were only $25.
So, somewhat impulsively, I bought a pair of boots for $25. That was difficult to stomach, because that is literally the budget for one of my entire outfits on here! But in a way, those boots are like an outfit all in themselves. I have seriously worn them probably 10 times since I got them a little over a week ago. They match everything, and I just love them. So, I’m going to include them in my outfit today, and I hope you’ll forgive me. But the rest of my outfit is definitely under $25!
(Photo credit: ma mere)

Green dress: Daisy Exchange, $6.50
Camel-colored blazer: Papaya via Daisy Exchange, $6.50
Caramel braided belt: Local thrift store, $1.80
Caramel braided headband: Handmade by me!
Black leggings: Target, $3
Outfit total without boots: $17.80
Outfit total with boots: $42.80

I also feel like I could get away with this because I could easily add a pair of flats I have to this outfit that were under $7 that would put this under $25. In the future if I wear my boots in a post, I will also try to take a picture with alternative shoes that keep the outfit under $25!
Now, for the outfit. I wore this to dinner last Sunday night with two of my really good friends, Katelyn and Richie. We ate at a local Irish pub (it’s called Sean Cummings, and if you’re interested I highly recommend it). I wanted something that looked nice but wasn’t too dressy. I was also meeting Kate’s new boyfriend so I wanted to make sure I made a good first impression!
I love the color green because I think it is my best color, so when I see a cute cheap green dress it’s hard for me to say no. Another recent fashion trend I’m so in love with is blazers. Daisy Exchange had a ton when I went in, but apparently I have the shoulders of a man because the only one I could fit in was this one I bought. I absolutely love this color, I think it matches well with so many different things. It was also a little more unique than  the other blazers I saw because it comes to points in the front.
My signature belt is, naturally, present and now you all can see a better picture of my headband that I bragged about in my last post. Be impressed, because that thing took some work. I simply bought some strips of leather and some thin elastic at the craft store. Then I braided it together and handsewed the elastic on. I do not recommend this method, as I ended up bending my needle and stabbing myself a few times. But I have yet to learn to use a sewing machine and I was too impatient to wait before I made this.
I finished this off with my old, worn black leggings from Target and my beloved boots because it was cool and rainy that night. And thus you have my pub outfit!
I apologize, because I know this post was pretty long but I hope you all like my outfit and my boots! And remember, if you really love something, don’t feel too guilty to splurge every once in a while.

Pax,
Sara

P.S. This is one my favorite Peeta pins ever. I seriously laughed for like five minutes the first time I saw it. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “These Boots Were Made For Walkin’

  1. D

    Cute boots. Ross and TJ Maxx are great places to get high quality brands for much less than normal. I have several pairs of shoes and purses from there. And nothing wrong with investment pieces. They’re versatile and will probably last longer than cheaper shoes. While cheap flats are the best, mine always seem to poop out after two or three seasons.

Leave a Reply

