I Feel Pretty, Oh, So Pretty

Standard

Oooooooo, Readers. This will be my spooookiest post yet, because, of course… it’s All Hallows’ Eve! This post will feature some very scary things, including boos and the most terrifying unibrow you’ll probably ever see. It will also feature my favorite outfit to date. So try not to cover your eyes, because there is some exciting stuff to see!
My outfit for this post is one I wore for class on a particularly pretty day when I just wanted to wear something I found particularly pretty. Here it is:
(Photo credit: Katie Schwarz)

Blue patterned dress: Target clearance, $7.48
Black tights: Walmart, $3
Red flats: Target clearance, $7
Grey belt: Came with a pair of pants from Old Navy!
Grey headband: Dollar General, $1
Red and gold ring: Target, $3
Gold heart locket: Christmas gift
Outfit total: $21.48

I’m not going to lie, I am in love with this outfit. I saw this dress at Target and freaked out when I realized it was on sale. I am very fond of the style of gauzy, see through dresses over an underdress. I loved the geometric pattern, the alternation between light and dark blue, and the red and gold accents at the bottom. It just looked so interesting to me, and there are a million different way I can think of to accessorize it.
Another reason I am especially fond of this dress is because I think it is very flattering to my shape. I played soccer for my whole life, and when I finally quit after my freshman year of college, I put on weight that soccer had always kept off. It’s been a little difficult to learn to dress my body in the best way possible with its changes. I think this outfit does an excellent job. The proportions of the dress flatter my best parts and hide the not as best. It minimizes my chest, which is a little generous for how short I am. The A-line flare of the skirt gives me a fuller shape through my hips but cinches in my waist, especially with the addition of the belt, helping to balance everything out.
As for the rest of my outfit, I love dresses with tights and flats. I loved the pop of red from my shoes that picked up in the skirt and echoed in my ring and necklace. Here’s a little closer look at them, by the way:
I love that necklace, which my mom got me for Christmas. It’s really convenient because I can wear it like this, with the red stone showing in the middle, or flipped over as just a plain gold locket, like I did in my post It’s Gonna Be A Long, Hot Summer. You can also see my headband a little better here, since it’s not very noticeable in the other pictures considering it was a typical excessively windy day in Oklahoma and my hair was crazy.
I felt so happy wearing this outfit, and I think you can tell. I completely understand that some days, are just sweatpants days. As a life long soccer player, I had sweatpant months. But I think that dressing up just makes you feel good. But I think that no matter what you wear, if you love your clothes and rock them, your confidence will make you look fabulous. Of course, for me a talented photographer always helps. So of course, a special thanks to Katie Schwarz for her lovely photos, as always!
Now, I promised you boos, so I will now deliver:

image

I give you my precious baby kitty, Boo-Boo 🙂
As for the terrifying unibrow, I give you my Halloween costume:

image

Frida Kahlo is not impressed with your Halloween shenanigans. (And in the spirit of my blog, the only thing I bought for this outfit was some red lipstick. Everything I else I already had!)
Finally, my Peeta pin:

image
Even Frida is impressed by Halloween Peeta.

Pax,
Sara

PS Happy 75th birthday yesterday to my beautiful and wonderful Nana, still as ornery as ever.
image

Leave a Reply

