J’Ador, Mon Amour

Standard

Hi everyone!
I’m excited to have an outfit to post for you all! I’ve really been enjoying writing on my other blog, and I so hope you’ve been following and enjoying it as well. But it’s nice to get back here and share a good bargain with you guys! My outfit today is one I just wore for class and out to go thrifting (and that is foreshadowing, because I’ve got a purchase to show you). Here it is:
mon amour“Mon Amour” top: Forever 21, $11
Navy shorts: Old Navy, $7
Navy canvas shoes: Target, $9
Silver heart necklace: Forever 21, gift (but I think around $3-4)
Outfit total: $27 (or $30 if you include the necklace)

I apologize for being a couple dollars over! I paid a little bit more for a top than I’m usually willing to, but it’s just because this is one of my favorite shirts I’ve ever bought. I love absolutely everything about it; color scheme, the stripes, the whimsical print, the “my love” in French (sorry that it’s backwards to you all). It’s also baggy enough that I can wear it on a fat day as easily as a feel-good one. It also works with almost any bottom I pair with it, from skirts to skinny jeans to leggings. And, as you can see, with shorts. That’s right, shorts. Because Oklahoma weather is so insane, I can wear shorts in January. (Fun fact: I wore this outfit on Monday, and then this morning, we were in a tornado watch. Wow, Oklahoma.)
I love these shorts, too, they’re one of my most utilized. Navy pairs well with tons of different colors, and these shorts are longer and looser so that they are more appropriate for a greater variety of places.
I wore these shoes in my very first post when I was on vacation in St. Louis. I actually haven’t really been able to wear them much since another post I did, the one of my museum outfit, because, while we were on that vacation, we went to a cave (a very common leisure activity for my family), and they got soaked and the plastic sole of one of them split. It was only recently that I found some shoe glue and fixed them. Fashion tip: don’t wear canvas shoes in a cave. The cave doesn’t care how cute they look with your outfit.
Finally, my necklace. It was a gift for my birthday one year, and like my bronze heart necklace, it is one of the ones I wear the most. I love hearts, and I love that it’s a longer necklace. I think they’re easier to wear than short necklaces. And, of course, I felt that a heart necklace was the perfect accessory to a shirt that says “Mon Amour.”
Now, as I mentioned, I wore this to go to a thrift store (making me feel like a huge loser, this picture was taken in the mirror of the thrift store bathroom/dressing room, since it’s the same thing). As I am incredibly poor, I haven’t been shopping in ages. But, at this thrift store the last time I went, I got boots, a shirt, three belts, a necklace, and the sweater I wore for Christmas for eleven dollars. I had high hopes I could find something inexpensive. And, indeed, I found this cute shirt for astonishingly cheap:
 This nautical-inspired shirt with the cute navy monogram was mine for the price offfff….. 91 cents. That’s right. NINETY-ONE CENTS. I paid not even a dollar for it. I hope that you all are suitably impressed.
Anyway, that’s all for this post! I hope you guys will check out my other blog, and share this one as well!

Pax,
Sara

6 thoughts on “J’Ador, Mon Amour

  1. Bea

    Just so you know, I always get a little excited when I see a new post. Cute casual outfit! Small suggestion if wordpress’s comment system can do it: maybe ask for outfit responses with pics or just a description? It could be neat. Anyways keep up the fun clothes!

      • Bea

        A number of things could be done with it. Readers could post a picture and/or description of their outfit relating to yours. Or since you talk about investment pieces you could ask that they post a picture and/or description of one of their favorite investments. Each post you could ask for one of their favorite accessories or shoes, prints, etc. Just another way for interactivity between blogger and reader. Also it might give other readers or you some new fun ideas for outfits. I don’t know. It could be fun.

      • That’s absolutely brilliant! I’m definitely going to look into it. I’m not incredibly tech savvy but I’ll mess about with it and see what I can do. Thank you for the idea!

Leave a Reply

