“L” is For The Way You Look At Me

Standard

Hi everyone!
I hope you had an absolutely lovely Valentine’s Day, I definitely did. I actually wrote about it on my other blog if you are interested, where I talk about why I love Valentine’s so much, even though I’ve been boyfriendless on V-Day for the past 8 years. One of the reasons I do is because Valentine’s gives me a great excuse to dress up a little more than I normally do, and that is the outfit I am bringing you!

IMG_7563IMG_7561Fuchsia lace dress: Daisy Exchange, $8.50
Black leggings: Target, $3
Boot socks: Kohl’s, Christmas gift ($6)
Caramel braided belt: local thrift store, $1.80
Cognac boots: Kohl’s, Christmas gift
Gold heart necklace: Christmas gift
Outfit total: $19.30*

*Again, I did terrible, and I forgot to take a picture with my alternative cheap boots, but here’s a picture of them by themselves, they really are very similar to the ones I have on in the picture:
Tall cognac boots: local thrift store, $4
Combined with rest of outfit: $23.30

I wish I hadn’t had to wear the leggings, but it was pretty cold on Valentine’s Day in Oklahoma, so sometimes one must be more sensible than fashionable. I adore this dress though, it fit me perfectly and I loved the lace because I thought it made it a little more dressy. I also don’t really have any other clothes in that color so it was nice to add such a bright, pretty color to my wardrobe. My trusty belt and necklace make their return in this outfit, and the boots and boot socks helped keep my feet warm on a chilly day.
I got up extra early before class on Valentine’s so I could curl my hair with a curling iron (a never before tried feat, so be impressed). I was amazed at how well it came out, it looked kind of 20s and I loved it. Unfortunately, by the time this picture was taken in the evening, the curls had mostly fallen out. My hair hates curls, much to my intense frustration. So anyway, this was my Valentine’s outfit, I felt lovely in it and I hope you like it as well! And I promise, my next outfit won’t have boots, boot socks, or leggings in it!

Pax,
Sara

PS On a great suggestion from one of my readers, I’m hoping you will reply to my outfit post with whatever you wore on Valentine’s Day, or just any outfit you really love, that you think is a great bargain! I would appreciate it so much, and I’d love to hear from you guys in the comments!

12 thoughts on ““L” is For The Way You Look At Me

  1. I had an amazing valentines day, it’s one of my favourite days of the year. Single or not. When I were single, I always gathered some girls and had a girls night out or movie night, slumber party. Now that I have a BF, I spend it with him naturally.

    I love the outfit. I hardly take any outfit pictures these days. I live in Norway so its VERY cold here. And I hate wearing leggings and wool stockings. hehe. But you look great though!

    • Thank you so much! It’s such a compliment that you liked my outfit, especially after seeing what awesome things you do with fashion on your blogs! I just got my boot socks for Christmas, so I’ve been wearing them rather a lot lately, perhaps too much lol my outfits tend to be a little less diverse when it’s cold here.
      And Valentine’s is one of my favorites as well, it’s such a wonderful opportunity to spend time with my loved ones!

      • My outfits these days, are not fashionable at all, so I think it’s cool that you post pictures, because it looks great! I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait for spring and summer to arrive, it’ll be so much more fun dressing up and posting outfit pictures! 😉 And it wont be so cold. :p

      • Oh I agree!! I feel like in the winter all I wear are jeans or dresses with leggings! In the spring I think you can wear such a different variety, and it’s so nice 🙂

  2. There is very little I love more than fabulous thrift store boots. Love finding your blog! I’m a huge fashion thrifter and I’ve often done the math in my head: “Ha ha! My whole outfit cost less than most people’s t-shirts! AND I look cute! Ha ha!” Love that you’ve done that and put it in blog form!

    • It was a great pair of boots from the thrift store that actually got me into thrifting, so they hold a special place in my heart! Anytime someone used to compliment my outfit, I always found myself saying, thanks, and I only paid so and so amount! One day my friend finally said to me, why don’t you just make a blog about it? And it took off from there! I’m so glad you enjoy it, especially after how much I enjoyed your blog!

  3. Katie Elliott

    Hi there! Loving your blog, my name is Katie Elliott I am the creator of Tag a Trend.co.uk (www.tagatrend.co.uk)
    The website works like this: each week I announce a new fashion trend, and people send in pictures of themselves wearing that trend to kte20@hotmail.com along with their name, age, town and a link to their blog.
    These pictures then appear on our Facebook wall at http://www.facebook.com/TagATrend and on the Tag a Trend site.
    Next week’s trend is ‘Leggings’ and as I can see you are loving the trend, I thought you might be interested in getting involved and sending in a pic of yourself in some leggings!
    Your picture will be featured with a direct link back to your blog so is great for spreading the word about your site!
    Look forward to hearing from you!
    Katie

    • Hi Katie!
      That is so incredibly exciting, I would be honored to participate! Would it be okay if I used one of the outfits already on my blog, or would you prefer I use a new one? My next outfit I was planning on posting actually has leggings, so I could use that too. I am so excited, thank you so much for this opportunity!!
      Sara

      • Katie Elliott

        Any pictures are fine, as long as you have leggings on (this week anyway)! Send as many pics as you like, with your name, age, town and a link to your blog. And in the meantime check out our FB page!! xx

Leave a Reply

