With a Laugh She is Slipping Through the Lilies on the Water

Standard

Alright, everyone.
I am suuuper excited for this post, because it’s one of the best deals I’ve had in ages. In direct contrast to my last outfit, it’s a girly dress in spring colors. I just wore this for class on Monday:

 Floral print dress: Daisy Exchange, $3
White cardigan: local thrift store, $3
Black stone necklace: my mom’s
Black boots*: Salvation Army, $4.53
Outfit total: $10.53

CHEAPEST. OUTFIT. POST. EVERRRRR!!!!!!
Look at that dress! It is so cute, and it was only THREE DOLLARS. I have no idea why it was on sale for so cheap at Daisy Exchange. I only got it a week or so ago, so I know it’s still cool weather and everything, but it’s almost spring time and I think this is a perfect spring dress. I wore it on one of those tentatively warm days that crop up during the transition from winter to spring. It was nice during the day, but I eventually had to change in the evening because it got really cool.
I think the floral print with the pastels makes for a pretty, feminine look, especially paired with the simple white cardigan. It reminded me of a Monet painting of water lilies!
But what I like about this outfit is that, paired with the black boots and black necklace, I think it gives a harder edge to the outfit. I wore it with my 25 dollar boots that I love so much, because they have buckles on them that give an almost motorcycle boot feel to them. Combined with the black necklace, which is made entirely of irregularly shaped stones, it felt edgier and added an interesting element to the outfit, a contrast between hard and soft that I liked.
As I mentioned, I wore my more expensive boots…. buuuut…. I remembered to take a picture for you all in my cheaper boots!

 Here you can see the dress better. It actually had a little bit of boning in the bodice that give the dress some structure. It created a contrast in the dress itself between hard and soft, with the structure top and the flowy skirt. The band around the waist also made me look smaller. Overall, I thought it was a very flattering dress as well; and ONLY THREE DOLLARS!
So there you have it, guys, one of the best bargains I’ve found in ages! Stay tuned for my next outfit, wherein I will also take a picture of the amazing shoes I found today that I am absolutely in love with (Hint: THEY ARE OXFORDS!!! AHHHHH!!!)

Pax,
Sara

PS I have always made it a point on this blog to have my title come from some poem, lyric, or even famous quote but I realized I never mentioned that. So, from now on, I’m going to make sure and include a link at the bottom of each post to whatever my post title comes from. Here is today’s, which comes from a poem called Water Lilies, which is actually by AA Milne, who wrote Winnie the Pooh 🙂 The other source I considered was this poem by one of my favorite poets, Sara Teasdale. I highly recommend her, and this poem, which is a little bit darker (like some elements of my outfit!)

Leave a Reply

