Now I’m Stepping Out This Old Brown Shoe, Baby, I’m in Love with You

Standard

Hi again, errrybodyyy.
I’ve got something really cool to talk about in this post, so I’m going to do it slightly differently. First, I’ll just show you my outfit. I was channeling a little bit of fifties today with the full skirt and the oxfords (OXFORDS!!!):

Finn wouldn't get out of my shoes pictures.

Finn wouldn’t get out of my shoe pictures.

 Gray flowy top: Clothes swap, free
Olive skirt: Old Navy clearance, $7.99
Leopard scarf: gift from friend
Tan oxfords: Daisy Exchange, $6.50
Silver headband: borrowed from sister
Bronze flower clip earrings: thrift store, $0.99
Outfit total: $15.48

Okay, I have a lot to talk about now! As you might have noticed, I got the cute flowy gray shirt I’m wearing from something called a clothes swap. This was something I’d never heard of until my friend Lyssa invited me to participate in one this week. The idea is fairly simply: a group of friends get together, bring extra clothes, shoes, jewelry, etc. that they don’t want, and put them out for everybody else to look at. If you see something you like, you put a sticky note with your name on it. After everyone has looked over everything, you simply get to take whatever you liked. If there is something that more than person wants, you just flip a coin or something along those lines to decide who gets it.
The swap I went to was an absolute blast and I got some other amazing stuff that you’ll definitely be seeing on here in the future. I think it’s just a fantastic idea, because, I mean, you get rid of stuff you don’t want and get free clothes in return. How can you beat that?!
Now, as I mentioned in my last post, these are the shoes I got the other day that I AM OBSESSED WITH. They are seriously like my ideal pair of oxfords. I love the color and style, and they fit perfectly. They also have a very vintage look, and since they’re not brand new they have a lot of character. And they were SIX FIFTY!! I looked the brand up online (Very Volatile), and these shoes go for like $50-60 when new. It was a bolt of unbelievable favor shown to me by the thrifting gods the day I found these, and in my size to boot.
You’ve seen my skirt before, and my beloved scarf appears repeatedly in this blog. The earrings I’m wearing are probably my favorite, they’re vintage from a thrift store. As you might know, I love bronze and they are a perfect accent to many of my outfits. Another thing I particularly like about them is that they’re comfortable. A problem with a lot of clips is that they have the tendency to pinch and hurt my ears after I wear them too long. That is not a problem with these. They were one of the best 99 cents I ever spent.
So there you have it! I wore this outfit to school today as I picked up my cap and gown. Barely a month until I graduate college, guys. I can’t even believe it:

cap and gownReppin’ the Class of 2013! (And Tottenham, as you can see in the background of my room, even though they put up a shameful performance today in the Europa League. Still love my Spurs though!)

PS The title of today’s post comes from this chill Beatles’s Song, Old Brown Shoe.

3 thoughts on “Now I’m Stepping Out This Old Brown Shoe, Baby, I’m in Love with You

Leave a Reply

