I Heard the Sound of the Floral Dance

Standard

Since I took such a long hiatus, I’m making it up to you all by posting two posts within less than a week!
And get ready– today’s outfit is one of my all time favorites!
20130813_195055

Floral and lace tank top: Ross, $10
Red crop pants: Daisy Exchange, $6.50
Black gladiator sandals: Walmart, $8
Screwback earrings: gift
Outfit total: $24.50

This is a relatively simple outfit, but the pieces really speak for themselves– something to keep in mind when trying to bargain shop. If you buy unique pieces that stand out, you don’t need to add tons of accessories or things like that to make a chic outfit. I’ve had this top for years and I have always adored it, but somehow I could never find quite the right thing to wear with it. I love the peek-a-boo lace on the top, the bright, pretty floral pattern, and the ruffly, feminine hem.
When I was going to lunch today, I was excited because it has been rainy and so it was finally cool enough to wear pants instead of shorts. I got these red crop pants fairly recently and featured them in another post, but haven’t really had a chance to wear them during the summer. As I was looking through my closet for an appropriate top, the floral just jumped out at me, and as soon as I tried it on I knew it was perfect.
The red really makes the pattern of the flowers pop, and pairing the crop pants with a tank top still keeps the look summery enough, especially with simple black gladiator sandals. I was perfectly happy with that look, but it occurred to me that the antique screwback earrings my mom bought for me would be simply perfect, and I think they add the perfect touch. I also was very excited to finally wear my hair down without worrying about it getting ridiculously sweaty, so I actually made an effort. I went with a vaguely vintage style and I actually thought it looked quite nice!

Close upppp

Close upppp

20130813_195715

So there it is! Hopefully you like my classy summer look, it’s certainly one of my favorites (and I expect I’ll be wearing this particular outfit a lot haha!)

Pax,
Sara

PS The title of today’s post comes from a charming old Cornish song called “The Floral Dance” which you can find the lovely lyrics to in the link.

Leave a Reply

