Listen to Your Heart

Standard

Hello again, Readers!
Can you believe the unprecedented amount of productivity on this blog? Three posts in two weeks, that has to be a record or something (Shouldn’t I know this kind of stuff? I don’t know this kind of stuff though.) Here’s an outfit I wore out to dinner a couple nights ago. I would have posted it sooner (CRAZY TALK) but I was unfortunately stricken possibly the most ill I’ve ever been in my life, and I’m just now recovering.
Continuing with this newfangled thing I implemented last week, I’ve made an alternative, designer outfit on Polyvore to compare with my copycat bargain outfit.

DESIGNER OUTFIT
7b0695a7eb8e20119f057e4ae5b478de
Eden & Esme Polka Dot Sweater: $79
DJP Halle Paint Splatter Jean: $110
Vintage Shoe Co. Aubrey Oxford: $90
(J by Jasper Watch is $85, but I’m not including it because I don’t know the price of my Fossil watch)
Outfit total: $279

MY COPYCAT OUTFIT
20131120_221228

20131120_222337

“Follow Your Heart” Sweater: Old Navy, $8
Pink patterned skinny jeans: Gap, $4.97
Tan Oxfords: Daisy Exchange, $6.50
Fossil watch: graduation gift
Outfit total: $19.47

$279 for THREE PIECES. I swear guys, I’m not trying to find the most expensive stuff here, just the closest things to what I have. I even didn’t include the price of the watch because my watch was a gift. It blows my mind how much more people charge for designer pieces.
I have to give total credit to my sister for this copycat outfit, we both own a pair of these pants and when I bought this sweater last week she pointed out how great it would look with them. It may or may not have been suggested that this outfit is a little “hipster,” especially with the Oxfords and the glasses, but I still love it. It’s quirky but simple, with the bright, loud pattern of the pants balanced with the plain sweater (with an adorable message, if I might add).
I got these pants at Gap for FIVE BUCKS, as you might have noticed. Truthfully I wouldn’t have probably bought them if they hadn’t been so cheap, because they can be difficult to wear. They certainly draw your attention and have a lot going on, so you have to be careful what you wear them with.
I love clothes that have cute or whimsical sayings on them, and when I saw this sweater I just knew I had to have it. It also happens to be in my favorite color, burgundy, so I was completely sold. I finished with my beloved Oxfords (I’m Oxford obsessed, in case you didn’t know) to give it a fun but classic touch. I don’t wear my glasses that much, but they went perfectly with this outfit so I couldn’t say no.
So there you have it, my hipster (possibly hipster preppy? Not sure here) outfit. Hopefully you don’t think it’s TOO crazy, and it will encourage you to try something a little bit out there. It’s important to always have fun with your clothes, and I loved trying this bright and unusual look.
Just a quick note, I’d love to beg you guys to do me a favor and help me get my blog out there, so if you have Pinterest pleeeease repin my outfits onto your boards (there’s a button at the bottom of this post that lets you do that) or if you’d rather, follow my board on Pinterest where I post all my blog outfits (http://www.pinterest.com/saralove11/looks-from-the-blog/) and you can just repin them straight from there. It would really mean the world to me!
image

Pax,
Sara

PS Here’s another behind the scenes picture from the glamorous life of me, where I get photobombed by my new cat:
20131120_221146

And now a cute pic:
20131120_221303

For more on my new cat, stay tuned to my other blog, Boots and Cats, because a new post introducing him is coming soon!

One thought on “Listen to Your Heart

Leave a Reply

