And I Want to Thank You For Giving Me the Best Day of My Life

Standard

Hiiii, everyone.
So. I was doing so well, I know. I had published three posts in two weeks! That was impressive for me. I dutifully continued the trend, and took a picture of my outfit for Thanksgiving, all overflowing with blogging excitement.
Then, the evening after Thanksgiving, the youngest of my four dogs suddenly collapsed. By the next morning, he was gone– my sweet, precious Cash died in my lap.

You all might remember that in September, my beloved 16 year old cat Boo passed away, and I was devastated. I didn’t post on either of my blogs for weeks because I didn’t have words to say. It was only after a few months had passed that I could even talk about him without tearing up, and I felt like I was finally becoming able to remember the joy and happiness he gave me instead of the agony of his death.
Sometimes it seems like when the world finally starts to settle down, it decides it needs to completely upend you. I won’t go into detail about his loss here, but you can read about it on my other blog if you’d like. Suffice to say, I just didn’t feel like taking pictures of my clothes for awhile. But Cashy was the happiest, most energetic dog, and I can’t imagine him wanting us unhappy, so finally I began photographing some outfits. In fact, I went on a spree– so besides the Thanksgiving outfit I’m posting today, I have THREE more already uploaded to the computer and waiting for you all. GET. EXCITED…. At least, I hope you are 🙂

Here is the more expensive look I created with designer pieces from Polyvore:
aztec
Harker Canyon Printed Tunic Dress: $47
Transparenze Paige Lace Leggings: $22
Timeless Marsilia Brown Riding Boot: $73
Debenham’s Designer Watch: $92
Oliver Bonas Classic Pearl Earrings: $23
Leather headband: Forever 21, $3.50
Outfit total: $260.50

Here’s my copycat look:

IMG_1304

IMG_1310

thanksgiving outfit

Tribal front black shift dress: Daisy Exchange, $8.50
Cream leggings: Wall’s, $3
Dana Buchman cognac riding boots: Kohl’s, Christmas gift (approx. $40)
Braided leather headband: handmade by me
Fossil tortoiseshell watch: Ross, graduation gift (approx. $40)
Pearl clip earrings: Claire’s, birthday gift (approx $3.50)
Outfit total: $11.50 ($95)

Thanksgiving is a day of feasting for me, and I take it very seriously. So I decided to go with comfy leggings and a very loose dress which would NOT push on my stomach (priorities). Both the print and the color palette seemed very reminiscent of fall so it just seemed perfect. I’ve had these white leggings for a couple of years and never, ever worn them because I’ve come to the conclusion that vaguely see-through white leggings don’t look good on anyone. Luckily this dress is very long and my boots very tall, so I had a way to keep my legs warm and match my outfit without showing off too much of a bad thing haha.
I’ve decided that if I’m going to be doing comparison outfits from more expensive pieces, I should at least give you all a clue of how much the expensive staple pieces I always use on this blog are, even if I didn’t have to pay for them. One of my favorite fashion tips– if you can’t afford something you really, really want, like nice boots or an expensive watch, holidays and birthdays are great times to ask for them so you can have a few investment pieces to supplement all your bargain buys! I knew the actual overall price of my outfit is terribly expensive, but it’s still more than $150 cheaper than the designer one!
One final note– I’ve created an account on Polyvore (which I’d LOVE if you would follow me on) to make my designer outfits, and for some reason it has linked itself to this blog, and publishes a post every time I make an outfit. And, because I am an old woman, I have no idea how to make it stop doing this. So you will be getting little teasers or just whimsical outfits I’ve made on Polyvore as posts on this blog until I figure out how to stop it haha.
I hope you all had a very happy Thanksgiving, and that you love my outfit! And please stay tuned because I’ve got three more outfits coming your way!

Pax,
Sara

Leave a Reply

