It’s Been A Long December

Standard

Hello, Readers!
Happy New Year! It’s time for my very first post of 2014 🙂 I hope your holidays were lovely, and that 2014 is your best year yet. 2013 was a year of enormous changes for me, that started out very wonderfully with graduating college and ended up not so well with the death of two of my beloved pets and my inability to find a job. I’m definitely ready to put it behind me, and I hope to make 2014 much happier all around. 
I went out to eat with my parents for New Year’s because my sister, who works as a waitress, had to work that night. Since she couldn’t come party with us, we took the party to her!
Here’s my designer outfit, which I previewed already:
new year's expensive

H&M Chiffon Blouse: $33
Mango Miniskirt with Zippers: $20
Pretty Polly Semi Sheer Polka Dot Tights: $32
Sole Society Tierra Cap Toe Pump: $65
Charloutte Rousse Metallic Tribal Dangle Earrings: $5
Outfit total: $155

My bargain copycat look:IMG_1731

Polka dot sheer blouse: Target, $4.50
Black cotton mini skirt: Ross, $3.99
Sparkly black leggings: my sister’s
Black heeled boots: Target, $7.50
Gold dangle earrings: Christmas gift from Skye!
Outfit total: $15.99

I definitely wanted to go with something a little more dressy to ring in the new year, and I thought this outfit fit the bill. I just recently bought this shirt, and I loved the flowy material tucked into the tight skirt. I’ve had this skirt for a few years, actually, and I love it because you can dress it up or down, and it’s incredibly comfortable! 
I borrowed the sparkly leggings from my sister because, 1. it was very cold and 2. I just love a touch of sparkle for New Year’s! I paired them with my high-heeled boots, which I thought were a nice mixture of dressiness and warmth haha. Then for the finishing touch I added my gorgeous new earrings I got for Christmas from my best friend Skye (thank you Skye-cloud!).
I also made an effort with my hair and makeup, so I hope you guys are impressed haha.
I felt very glamorous and confident ringing in 2014, and, as always, I hope you all love my outfit as much as I do! 
Stay tuned, I should have a new outfit post up in the next couple of days from what I wore to my friend D’Erin’s wedding last night– I’ve been looking forward to wearing this outfit since I got the invitation to D’s wedding, so I can’t wait to share it with you all!

Pax,
Sara

PS I just want to mention the title of today’s post, which is from one of my favorite songs by the Counting Crows. As one year ends and another one dawns, I always find myself thinking of these lyrics:
And it’s been a long December and there’s reason to believe
Maybe this year will be better than the last
I can’t remember all the times I tried to tell my myself
To hold on to these moments as they pass 

Those little lines always help me look forward with optimism and hope towards a new year, while still remembering to appreciate what I’ve had in the past one! 

One thought on “It’s Been A Long December

Leave a Reply

