Oh A Leopard Can’t Change Its Spots

Standard

Hello, Dear Readers!
I’m sorry I’ve been rather lazy this month, but my soul has been very crushed by fruitless jobhunting and I haven’t felt like blogging. I have had the photos for this outfit ready for some time, but I honestly just haven’t had the energy to make a post (pathetic, I know). But that all changes tonight! A few weekends ago, my cousins who are missionaries in Mexico came up to visit, and we had an enormous family get together, kind of like a second Christmas. We so rarely get to see them, only every few years, so it was wonderful to have them back. It was also wonderful to have so much of the rest of my family together as well– we haven’t had that big of a get together since I was a little girl.

Here’s my designer comparison outfit:

Amour Vert Suchi Silk Leopard Blouse: $199
DSQUARED2 Corduroy Super Slim Jean: $318
Nubuck Pointy Toe Ballet Flat: $20
Outfit total: $537

Here’s my bargain copycat outfit:

IMG_1812

You can see my shirt a little better here

You can see my shirt a little better here

Leopard ruffle blouse: Daisy Exchange, $6.50
Red skinny corduroys: Old Navy, Christmas gift ($15)
Black pointy toe flats: Cato, donated to me by a friend
Black headband: Forever 21, $1.50
Pearl earrings: Claire’s, birthday gift
Outfit total: $23

As you may know, I absolutely love leopard, but somehow I had never managed to buy myself a leopard shirt before. I had already checked out at Daisy Exchange when I walked by this shirt, and I ended up going back to try it on and ended up buying it (obviously). It just looks so classy to me, and I feel like this is a blouse I could dress up or down and pair with so many things.
These red corduroy jeans I found at Old Navy and fell in love with, and my sister bought them for me for Christmas. I really am getting into corduroy pants, and I had been wanting red skinny jeans forever, so they seemed perfect–another really great, versatile piece that I feel like I can pair with so many different things.
I paired them with my black flats, which I felt looked dressy for our big family dinner but wasn’t as formal as heels would be. That’s what I was trying to go for with the whole look, actually, and I think I found a nice balance between the two.
My hair is (FINALLY) getting long enough to braid, so I’ve pretty much been braiding it nonstop haha and of course I love to throw on a headband and my pearl clips just to finish everything off.
As always, I hope you love my outfit as much as I did!

Pax,
Sara

PS Here are a couple photos of my family from the day. One of my cousins lives in this big, amazing century old house, and she held the get together there so all our family could fit!

My sister and I in the middle, and then our cousin Caden is sitting behind us, my cousin Kylie is on my lap, and our soon to be cousin Gabby is sitting with my sister

My sister and I in the middle, and then our cousin Caden is sitting behind us, my cousin Kylie is on my lap, and our soon to be cousin Gabby is sitting with my sister

My sister and I with our hilarious cousin Emily, who lives with her missionary family in Mexico

My sister and I with our hilarious cousin Emily, who lives with her missionary family in Mexico

Leave a Reply

