You Ain’t Nothing But A Hound Dog

Standard

Hello, Readers!
I know it’s been a while since I posted one of my own actual outfits, but I have been very busy working on a project on my other blog called “The Single Lady’s Calendar” that I created with my dear friend Cindy. Here’s a little sneak peek:
Fictional Boyfriend February

Haha it’s exactly what it sounds like, and I would LOVE if you go check it out. But back to the business at hand! My outfit for this post is from Valentine’s Day, one of my favorite days of the year (even though I am a Single Lady lol). One of the reasons I love Valentine’s so much is because it gives me an excuse to really dress up a little more than I normally would. For V-Day this year, I went to dinner with my parents at the restaurant where my sister works so we could see her!
Here is my designer comparison outfit:
houndstooth

L’Agence Sheer Yoke Panel Sleeveless Blouse: $99
Weekend by MAXMARA Spigola Skirt: $227
Strappy D’Orsay Pointy Toe Flats from Charlotte Russe: $25
Juicy Couture Sophia Skinny Belt: $48
Outfit total: $399

Here’s my bargain copycat outfit:
IMG_0001

IMG_0008

Black mesh neck sleeveless blouse: Target, $6.47
Black and white houndstooth skirt: Target, $5.98
Red skinny belt: Forever 21, came with another dress
Red open toe flats: Target, $7
Black tights: Target, $4.50
Outfit total: $23.95

I am crazy about this outfit. I bought the top and the skirt together because I just loved them so much that I couldn’t not. The top is silky looking, and I love the high neck with the illusion panel on the top– it’s still a little sexy without being too revealing, and I can imagine pairing it with so many different things.
I have always loved houndstooth print, but it can sometimes be difficult to wear, or to find a pattern that is just right. The instant I saw this skirt I knew I wanted it, and I actually just picked up the shirt as something to try it on with, and ended up falling in love with the whole look.
It was still a little bit cool on Valentine’s so I added my black tights, and then went with the traditional touch of red to accent the black and white color scheme–and also because it was Valentine’s, of course πŸ™‚
The belt, which came with a dress I bought a long time ago, added just the right touch, and the flats made everything look nice without being too formal. I added my pearl earrings to make it a little more classy, and then styled my hair a little fancier than I usually do, going for a bit of a vintage-y look.
All in all, I felt absolutely beautiful–even if I didn’t have a date! As always, I hope you love my outfit as much as I do πŸ™‚

Pax,
Sara

5 thoughts on “You Ain’t Nothing But A Hound Dog

  1. I love this outfit on you!! πŸ˜€ And that hounds tooth skirt is to-die-for! I really loved that pop of red! So classy and sexy! I used to love valentine as a singe gal too, but now that I’m engaged it’s all different (not that I complain), haha πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

